Harry Nilsson: The RCA Albums Collection

Now that Amazon.com has spilled the beans a little early, here’s a part of the big news that I couldn’t report earlier!

Harry Nilsson: The RCA Albums Collection

This summer, Sony’s Legacy label is releasing The RCA Albums Collection, a huge box set of Harry Nilsson’s RCA albums on CD along with three additional CDs of outakes and single-only releases.  The set includes 17 CDs in total:

  • Disc 1 PANDEMONIUM SHADOW SHOW (Stereo and Mono)
  • Disc 2 AERIAL BALLET (Stereo and Mono)
  • Disc 3 HARRY
  • Disc 5 THE POINT!
  • Disc 10 PUSSY CATS
  • Disc 11 DUIT ON MON DEI
  • Disc 12 SANDMAN
  • Disc 13 …THAT’S THE WAY IT IS
  • Disc 15 NILSSON SESSIONS 1967-1968
  • Disc 16 NILSSON SESSIONS 1968-1971
  • Disc 17 NILSSON SESSIONS 1971-1974

The three newly-compiled CDs, Nilsson Sessions 1967-1968, Nilsson Sessions 1968-1971, and Nilsson Sessions 1971-1974, contain a total of 58 tracks, half of which (29 tracks) are previously unreleased.

The set will be released in July, 2013.  It is available for pre-order from Amazon.com.

Chester Cannon, of the For the Love of Harry Nilsson blog, suggests that you may be able to order the upcoming box set for less from Amazon.co.uk even if you are in the US.

18 thoughts on “Harry Nilsson: The RCA Albums Collection

  1. Wow, I would KILLED for this fifteen years ago when I was looking for his later albums. I’m definitely pre-ordering, hope the unreleased material holds some surprises.

  2. I really happy to see this release…it’s long overdue.

    There is one album missing…

    The Skidoo soundtrack is missing…of course, Harry isn’t heard much on the album, he mostly did the score. At least it’s available to download…

    • It’s next to impossible to get on the “For The Love Of Harry Nilsson” website now. You have to open a Google account
      and jump through various hoops just to be told you haven’t
      been “invited” to enter the website. They say to contact the
      site web guy but that’s impossible because you can’t get on
      the website!!

  3. Pingback: Watch the New Promotion Video for the RCA Albums Box Set | Harry NilssonHarry Nilsson

  4. I can’t wait for this box set. RCA Legacy I’m proud of you, How can I run away from darkness at the end of day…..when all I think about is you.

    • Seeing the cd box set is a limited edition import I kinda doubt if they’ll do it on vinyl. The cost would be through the roof!

  5. I haven’t read the book yet but I know Alyn has put in many many hours searching and archiving materials from 1941 to 1994.
    Thanks again Alyn
    Gary Nilsson

  6. The book is wonderful Gary. I’m sure you will enjoy it very much. My review is up on Amazon. I’m “EMC”.

  7. A few timely questions for anyone who can answer, please.
    1. Will any of the 17 discs be released individually or in smaller sets?
    2. Will any of the tracks be released digitally?
    3. Are the core albums newly remastered or are the remasters previously released used?
    4. How do I get an invitation to gain access to For the Love of Harry Nilsson blog which until recently was open to all?


    • Hi Mark,

      I would say there’s a chance that the individual cd’s might see seperate releases at some point once the box set sells out. It is a limited edition import. Being an import it may be a while before downloads become available. All of the cd’s have been remastered for this box set. Good luck trying to get on the “For The Love Of Harry” website. I can’t believe fans can’t get on there anymore. I gave up and frankly I don’t care. We fans shouldn’t have to jump through hoops.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>